The City Hall in Słupsk

Since the beginning, the building has acted as the home of the city authorities. The new City Hall was intended to replace the old one, located on the Old Town Square in Słupsk (this building was demolished just after the construction of the new city hall). It was initially to stand on al. Sienkiewicza Street (Ger. Blücherplatz, subsequently Bismarckplatz), but due to the wet ground, the present location was ultimately selected. The erstwhile Mayor of Słupsk (Stolp im Pommern), Hans Matthes (who was the Mayor during 1893-1905), spent twice the amount planned by the City Council for the construction, i.e. 600 thousand marks instead of the projected 300 thousand. The City Hall was definitely too big for the needs of a city with a population of approximately 30 thousand.

The interior includes:

The office of the Słupsk City President is unique, historical (over one hundred years old) exhibits wallpapers, desks, stained glass, a gas chandelier, and monumental paintings, which include the presentation of the city rights presentation allegory – in the conference room, the Fish Market in Słupsk, unloading in the Ustka port.

The City Hall is located in the central part of town, closing off the spacious Victory Square from the west. The main facade is directed to the east towards the square, the two side wings being parallel to the Deotymy and Tuwima Streets. Both the main body and the wings are covered with pitched roofs. The entire structure is under a massive clock tower, crowned with an onion dome. The facades of the building, particularly the main one, are diversified by numerous architectural details and artistic decorations. Besides the tower, the vertical accents include picturesquely segmented, triangle peaks covering the roofs of the side wings. The dominating colour is the red of the shingles and the wall bricks.

The main entrance leads to the richly-decorated hall with stone stairs. There is stained glass above the door, which is filled with plant ornaments, the city’s coat of arms and the city hall’s date of construction, 1900-1901. The representative hall of the ground floor has a stellar vault supported on six stone columns. The Office of the City President is on the first floor. This room has twelve walls. Inside, there is stained glass, a gas chandelier (which is currently converted to electrical power) original wallpapers and a 100-year-old desk. The north-east corner of the second floor hosts the most imposing and representative session room (No. 211). The room’s interior has been preserved in its entirety.

One of the elements of the Słupsk City Hall is the 56-metre[-tall tower, which contains 180 stairs. The tower has been accessible to visitors since 2003. It contains a gallery of the portraits of Mayors and Presidents. The top contains a viewing terrace, which overlooks a panorama of the city.

With short breaks, the hall clock has been operating since 1901. The frame is inscribed with the name of the chronometer’s builder, OTTO PILA, STOLP. In 1973, the mechanism was expanded with chimes, which played one phrase of Karol Szymanowski’s IV Symphony at a defined time on specially[-cut pipes. Today, the Słupsk bugle call is played from the hall tower every day at noon.

W pobliżu



Odległość — 732 M


Niestety, nie masz jeszcze dodanych, ulubionych pozycji.

Klikając w ikonę serca dodasz pozycję do ulubionych.

Niestety, nie masz jeszcze dodanych, ulubionych pozycji