An interesting fact is that the foundation stone for the temple was placed in 1614 by the abbot of the Oliwa monastery Philip Adler. The church was burned down on September 4th in 1872. Baroque altars located today in the Neo-Romanesque temple are reportedly the only remains of the old equipment. The construction plans included placing next to the church a bell tower, but due to the instability of the land the plan was abandoned and the bells hung on a bell tower located at the back of the temple. Originally, around the church stretched a parish cemetery. Since the end of 19th century it was taken over by a today cemetery located across the street.