The church was rebuilt several times from the medieval to modern times. The building owes its current architectural form to a building campaign from 1468 when it was recovering from the ruins after the Thirteen Years’ War. The vaulting and construction of a new bell tower dragged on into the twenties of 16th century. In 19th century the church was enclosed by small tenement houses serving the parish. Restoration work was carried out in the interwar period where the equipment and stained glass windows were replaced. The most valuable monuments include the medieval sculpture of St. Elizabeth of Turin and the neo-Gothic group of altars. The church of St. John throughout its story remained a Catholic church.