The Starzyno parish was established soon after 1220. For this period of time, the village was owned by the Cistercians from Oliwa and stayed under their rule until the secularisation of the Order after the Prussian partition of Pomerania in 1772. In 1583, a wooden church is mentioned. In the wake of the Counter-Reformation, the installation of Oliwa Abbott, Aleksander Kęsowski, was very important. In 1648-49, a masonry church was erected, single-nave, three-bay, with a multilaterally-enclosed presbytery and a tower. Rural church with both late-Renaissance and Gothic features. In the arcade of the chancel arch, a rare polychrome from the times of the construction of the church is preserved, with the scene of the Final Judgment. According to Krzysztof Schwarz, the composition based on the copperplate by Jan Sadeler confirms the deliberate choice of the catechistic subject: instructing, warning and finding the purpose of the congregation. The main altar and the side altars illustrate the Catholic dogmatic teaching on the role of the Virgin Mary in salvation. In 1652, Bishop Mikołaj Krasicki consecrated the church. In the years 1686-1888, the church was a branch of Mechowo. The spire of the tower is topped with a banner with the date 1817, which only testifies to the amount of care of the locals for the church.
Autor: LOT Norda
Foto: M.Bieliński, Dep. Turystyki, UMWP