St. John the Baptist’s church was erected in 1840-1841. Until 1869 it was the only Catholic Church in Żuławy Gdańskie, and has remained open ever since. The first religious structure was probably built by the Cistercians in the early 14th Century and was a branch of the church in Steblewo. As one of the few temples, it was not turned over to the Protestants during the Church Reformation. The church was destroyed during the Napoleonic Wars, and the present structure, rebuilt in the Romanesque Revival style, was damaged in wartime operations in 1945. The tower was pulled down, and only the porch remained. Today, the items of interest are the rich furnishings of the interior, including the main altar and two side altars, a late-18th Century pulpit and organs. The exterior features a belfry with two bells that date back to 1699 and 1837.
Foto: M.Bieliński, Dep. Turystyki, UMWP