The Hotel was erected between 1922 and 1924 and its first fully-operational season was in 1925. Its investor was Pierwsze Polskie Towarzystwo Kąpieli Morskich S.A. (The First Polish Sea Bathing Association). With the intention to build an advanced bathing beach, in the 1920s the Association bought the Steinberg estate located on two hills – Stone Hill (Kamienna Góra) and today’s St. Maximilian’s Hill (Wzgórze św. Maksymiliana). Constructed under the supervision of Władysław Gronowski, the Polska Riwiera Hotel offered 70 rooms, which turned out to constitute a rather limited capacity in relation to the popularity it quickly gained.
In 1939 the Riviera was taken over by the German army. The structure did not suffer any damage during military activities, and after the City’s liberation in 1945 the building was reunited with its long-time pre-war director and co-owner, Władysław Pikuziński. He administered the Hotel for a year to lease it to the Maritime League in 1947, which, in turn, passed it over to the army again but this time it was the Polish army.
On 29 June 1950 the Riviera opened on its premises a naval officer’s club, later renamed the Local Naval Officer’s Club. The year 1973 saw its name changed again into the Naval Club, and in 1990 the name of the establishment was changed to include the building’s historical name – “Riwiera”.